Can I lose my belly flab with weights?

i have bad belly flabby loose skin after having 2 kids, I'm short at 5ft 3inches, weighing currently at 14st 2lbs (lost 5lbs so far) think that's 190+ pounds. I'd really Love to add weights to my daily exercise but worried I'd gain muscle under the flab and look bigger, I've read stuff like that on the Internet. Is there anything I could do with a set of Dumbbells to lose fat specifically all over my body (tummy preferably) is anyone using weights for weight loss? Would love some help here, I'm new to weights, don't know whether to use them or wait until I've lost the flab first? Thanks for feedback! Welcome to add me :)

Replies

• Unknown
    edited May 2015
    I was thinking more for body shaping than for the burn to be honest. Core strength, posture and agility. When you're eating back exercise calories the burn from workouts almost becomes irrelevant on the loss rate front - just makes it a lot easier to maintain that deficit.
  • Unknown
    edited May 2015
    Great to hear you are considering weight training to help your goals out. My wife has recently started and shes seeing results, slowly but surely! What she does is a full-body circuit 3 times a week. We do NOT have any fancy equipment. Just a very basic bench & a bunch of dumbbells. Thats it. Here is what her routine looks like:

1 set of deadlifts
    1 set of bench presses
    1 set of shoulder presses
    1 set of bent over rows
    1 set of bicep curls
    1 set of tricep extensions
    1 set of squats
    1 set of ab crunches

Repeat 3 times a session, 3 times a week. Mon, Wed, Fri works great if you can.