Gluten Free?

If I had a choice- I'd stick to all the breads I was eating- but with my health, I can't. Yuck. But it's for the best!
What sort of things do you eat to help fill you up? I'm still relatively new to this change in my life, and I still have a hard time finding out what I can and can't eat.

Replies

• I absolutely cannot eat gluten (the consequences are heinous and long reaching) so I feel you on this. The past 5 years since I was diagnosed have taught me a lot about substitutions. Most days I go with what's naturally gluten free versus the pre-packaged stuff (which is high in fat and sugar a lot of the time).

Things that fill me up:
    -chickpeas
    -quinoa
    -rice
    -black beans (sauteed with chopped up red bell pepper, onion and sirrachia)
    -meats (chicken and ground beef or turkey)
    -seafood (fish and shrimp etc)
    -big *kitten* salads with chopped turkey and loads of veggies topped with avacado
    -stews/soups in the winter. To thicken put in potato or use a little cornstarch
    -eggs

What kind of things do you like to eat?
  • Oh, trust me, I let it slip once and I had a bite of something I wasn't supposed to and I was in bed for two days. It was awful!
    Right now, I'm mainly just trying anything with "gluten free" on the package. I eat a lot of fruit, eggs, almonds.
    I tried quinoa, but for some reason the kind I tried was extremely bitter. I must have bought a bad batch or something.
    I'm just having a hard time finding things that are filling. I'm an extremely light eater by nature, so it doesn't take a lot to get me full- but from what I have realized with gluten free is even though I get full rather quickly with what I am eating, I get hungry a lot sooner.
    Like, if I work, I'd like to eat something that can tied me over until the shift ends, you know?
  • Quinoa can be very bitter if it isn't rinsed several times before cooking. Did the brand you bought say that it was pre-washed? Also, have you tried lentils?