I've gotten serious.

Hello everyone.

This is my first time visiting the forums here. :)

I've been using MFP for about a week now. I started using it to help ensure that I take my vitamins & supplements, but it has become so much more now.

I've been overweight for quite some time. :( In fact, right before my daughter was born I weighed a nice 199 lbs. at 6'4". ;) Then, right after she was born I got up to 250 lbs. :*

Sympathy pregnancy weight gain, I guess. Well, that and family genes. All the men in my family pack on weight in their 20's, and if they don't keep extremely active....well, they get heavy. :s

I carried that weight for a while. 250 wasn't so bad. But then, in '97 I had an accident. A year later I developed some issues that complicated my life. They caused me to become more sedentary. So I put on more weight. I got up to around 300 lbs.

Fast forward several more years. Those complications get worse/return. My life grinds to a halt and I pack on even more weight. At that point I'm somewhere between 425 and 450. I didn't know the exact weight because I couldn't find a scale that would go high enough.....even at my doctor's office. :'(

I finally couldn't take it anymore. :# I was wearing 6XLTs and my pants were 56". :o

Between my neurologist and my best friends I had finally decided on having a Gastric Sleeve done. (Unfortunately, due to my condition I cannot do rigorous exercise. So even most aerobics is out of the question for me.) Now, even before deciding on doing this, I had been making some changes in my life - I changed:
  • How I was preparing my foods (less frying, more grilling)
  • My portions (making the smaller)
  • What ingredients I used (olive oil instead butter, making my own dishes instead of boxed meals (like Rice-A-Roni), etc.)
So, before I even went to see a doctor about having this procedure done, I had lost about 70 pounds all on my own! o:)