Actual iron!

Today, for the first time in my life, I pumped actual iron. I went to the end of the gym that usually intimidates me, I chose a barbell and plates, and I used them. I didn't worry about what I looked like. I grunted and puffed. I spent time getting my grip balanced without worrying that people were staring at the fat girl just squeezing a barbell. I did deadlifts. I pushed that barbell over my head. I balanced it on my shoulders and squatted slooooowly.

I loved it. I loved it, I loved it, I loved it. I wish it were Wednesday so I could do it again, right now. I wish I'd started ten years ago. Thanks, MFP strength advocates -- I wouldn't have even tried it if I hadn't read so many posts about it here.

Replies

• Good for you!! I'm just getting into the lifting routine, too. I'm a runner and there's not a lot of advocacy for lifting within the running community as a whole...yet. It seemed foreign to me but I love it, too. Just getting into a routine and knowing what to do and when (which muscle groups, etc.) has been a bit challenging.
  • I can't wait to be able to get back into lifting. I'm giving my shoulder another month to heal up, and I plan on Starting back into the weights my first gym session in June.
  • BOOM SHAKA-LAKA!!! I'm getting ready for it I swear, bad shoulder and everything.
  • avskk wrote: »
    Today, for the first time in my life, I pumped actual iron. I went to the end of the gym that usually intimidates me, I chose a barbell and plates, and I used them. I didn't worry about what I looked like. I grunted and puffed. I spent time getting my grip balanced without worrying that people were staring at the fat girl just squeezing a barbell. I did deadlifts. I pushed that barbell over my head. I balanced it on my shoulders and squatted slooooowly.